Compensation and changing careers

Tykimeister

Recycles dryer sheets
I have been working in local county government for 8 years. Mainly in the juvenile detention field, aka corrections officer. I have been taking classes at a community college and should be able to change career fields if I choose to complete a nursing school program. My current bachelor’s degree is in Criminal Justice. My significant other has been a nurse for several years and although challenging at times, she seems to enjoy it and I have gained interest in doing the same type of work. But before I take that leap, I really want to understand what I am giving up at my current place of employment.

For the past couple years I have always been able to gross $40,000 a year, but I have to work nearly 200 hours of overtime to accomplish that.

For 2016

My employer contributed $3,768 to my 401(a)
I contributed $2,402 to my 401(a)
My employer contributed $5,833 to my benefits
I contributed $243 to my benefits

I'm going to leave out other taxes and expenses my employer pays because those same expenses will be paid by my next employer anyways (unemployment, SS, etc). But my employee compensation statement shows my yearly total being $49,300. Which is a lot different than saying, “I make $17.78 an hour.”

How much more would I need to make in a new career field to justify leaving the career I have now? Going into nursing, I can start off making $18 an hour after completing a 9 month program. Take another 12 month program and you can start making $26-$28 an hour starting off. But I will no longer be contributing to my 401(a) and would have to start a new retirement product since I will no longer work for the county. Future employers could pay much less in benefits and that could offset what my true earnings really are compared to the compensation I earn now.