Confused

xprinter

Recycles dryer sheets
My wife is 2 years from full pension the last month is a 200k difference. Her company was bought recently and her plant may close down before her retirement. We live in Maryland. She has been offered a promotion and a new job at the Florida facility. She would work here until the plant closes down and commute to FL a week or so a month. After the plant closes they would want her to relocate to FL.
I am a printing salesman with local accounts that I have built up for many years. I will loose those accounts when we move. Currently I make about 55k and my wife about 70k. She has a great medical plan through work. We are both turning 53 this month and have 500k in retirement accounts plus her pension currently worth 140k (cash value). We owe about 100k on our home which is worth 385k and no other debt.
Should we move to FL or stay here in MD? I sort of like the idea of warm winters, but my earning power will be less in FL. I am not wild about cold calls as a new salesman. I would rather work on a golf course in the area. All my family lives here in MD. I would appreciate any comments. By the way it would be in Lakeland FL.

Thanks Jeff

$200K for the last 24 months... Look at it in terms of timeline. When would the current location close? Can you both deal with some separation for a YEAR? Could she scope out the Sunshine State while you keep the homefront going with frequent round trips for both of you? Could she telecommute part time? What are the projections on your nest egg for 2 years of growth and the bump up? What kind of extra money will her taking the opportunity on entail? What will the bump up do to her pension benefits? Sometimes that is a very sweet incentive! Compare all the figures before making a decision. Also, how many years more were you both hoping to work?