Continuing Education During Career

BigMoneyJim

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Has anyone given thought to continuing education to further one's career when your goal is ER?

I have an Associate's degree, and occasionally I consider going back to finish the Bachelor's just for the potential career boost. Being in IT I also consider gaining industry certifications that aren't immediately necessary, but I'm rather dismissive of IT certifications because they become worthless so fast and my MCSE1 didn't seem to help me a few years ago when job hunting.

But lately when I ponder these questions I think about ER, too. If I'm controlling my expenses and (soon to be) debt free, then it occurs to me I may be able to make it to ER just as well with my current career education and experience along with my personal finance skills.

I have no specific question; I'm just pondering in the open. Feel free to ponder with me.

1Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer

Has anyone given thought to continuing education to further one's career when your goal is ER? . . .

I think that's an excellent question that isn't asked enough by ER wannabes. The right education can be one of the best investments you can make.

Of course, getting additional education credentials is not the same as getting an education. We all probably know at least a few losers who have outstanding credentials.

If you are investing in education, because you want to know more, it is likely to be worthwhile -- both from a lifestyle and from a financial viewpoint. But if you are investing in credentials to add another line to your resume, you may be dissapointed in the results. :)