Join Early Retirement Today

Cost of kids
Old 06-17-2006, 01:38 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Cost of kids

I am one of those hopeless souls stuck in MegaCorp, but planning to ER.

I am 30 y.o., have my mortgage paid off (home worth 275K) and between my company RSP and my savings am putting approximately $40,000 per year in either my RRSP (retirement account in Canada) or non retirement funds. I currently only have about $40,000 in my retirement accounts as I just started doing this as my focus previously was on paying the mortgage off.

I am by profession an accountant so naturally I've built my own comprehensive Excel worksheet with fairly extensive detail on every possible scenario. By my projections I will definetly be able to retire at 50 and possibly at 45 depending on market conditions. Ideally I want to semi retire at 47 or 48 and work 2-3 days per week at that point (doing bookkeeping, tax returns, easy non stressful stuff) whereby I would cover my expenses and let my nest egg grow for 5 or 6 more years during the highest compounding period.

Of course planning like this means absolutely nothing as there are so many variables. Some of my projections are that I stay single, get married with no kids, and married with kids. Obviously the best result financially is getting married with no kids as there would be 2 income streams saving for ER.