Join Early Retirement Today

Educational Careers: Teacher's Schedule?
Old 12-07-2004, 06:43 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Educational Careers: Teacher's Schedule?

A former school teacher relative has been encouraging me lately to look for work as a computer/network tech at public schools. (I have about 10 years' such experience in the private sector.) This relative claims the techs have the same work schedules as the teachers; that I would get summer, Christmas and spring breaks in addition to all the other school holidays.

This relative can be very knowledgable but can also present mistaken assumptions as indisputable fact. So I'm eager to verify the time off claims as I would probably take the salary cut for the ability to take that much time off.

I've seen much discussion here of military and government jobs, but I don't recall anyone discussing an educational career. Does the whole school administration operate on teacher's schedules, or do they work year-round like corporate America?
BigMoneyJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!