Emergency Fund

mrinvest

Dryer sheet wannabe
Ok, so we all know about the emergency fund you should have before you begin investing. "Experts" say you should have between 3 and 6 months of income saved.

Do they mean single income or both incomes in the case of married couples?

Actually, LIVING EXPENSES are the key. You need 3-6 months of LIVING EXPENSES (Or more) in an emergency fund..........:)

I don't think you can look at that rule as an absolute. I have never had an emergency fund and still don't. I have been investing for 27 years. I keep cash for other purposes, i.e. 12K for DD HS tuition next year that I could utilize during an emergency. You also have to look at the stability of your occupation as well as your spouse. If you are a commision only sales person then you might need more than the 3-6 month standard. For instance, I work for local city gubermint and layoffs are structured by contract where 5000 people would have to go before I do. I think that having some mattress money is more important in the short run in case of civil or natural disaster.

The conventional wisdom is 3-6 months, but IMO these economic times don't call for conventional wisdom. I think a household has to look at several factors including their job security and whether they are a one-income or two-income household.

A two-income household with two very secure jobs is probably okay with 3 months of expenses. A single-income household with a less secure job should, IMO, have at least 12 months of living expenses in this economy. As my wife is currently unemployed and I'm in a private sector job, I err on the side of paranoia and am currently at 18 months and it still doesn't feel like enough.

All I was trying to say is that LIVING expenses are a key, because those are the bills that keep on comin'.........