Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Investing for a youngster
Old 07-11-2006, 08:07 PM   #1
Dryer sheet aficionado

Investing for a youngster

Ok, here is a little about myself. I am a college graduate, almost 23 years old, no debt, car paid for + company truck and gas. I have 15 k saved up from odd ball jobs and what not. I make 50k with an annual bonus and stock options. Great medical, dental, vision, etc.(Now for the bad part, I am engaged and live at home. I am kidding, I love my fiance, and I am going to live at home until I can put 20% down on a house, or marraige, whichever comes first.

My company offers a 6% match for the 401k, plus a 6% retirement package fully funded by the company. I plan on putting in 12% of my salary which will bring me up to a whoping 24% of my salary.

My main problem is this. We are only allowed a few funds, money market, and managed income mutual funds. So far we dont have index funds or anything of that nature available. We are with Fidelity, and they allow us a brokerage account on only the 401k, for a 75 dollar a year fee, plus transactions fees.

I believe that since I am young, I need to invest in stocks mostly. A professor once told me to subtract you age from 100, and thats the percentage in stocks you should have. Do you people think I need to invest in stocks or keep the mutual funds offered? I will be back soon with a list of the mutual funds available. Thanks.
bode316 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!