Job change at 42 but no pay raise

pjigar

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I have been chugging along on my FIRE journey as planned for some time and we have 7-10 more years of work life ahead of us. I have been working for the same company for 12 years in technical sales. I like the challenging work, personal interactions with (sometimes ungrateful) customers and very high pay that comes with this line of work. However my work has become more monotonous over last 5 years and I have been working for an offensive and excessively ungrateful customer. I have been looking for a new job for a year and I have found the same job function in a different domain in my industry (think software vs hardware). My old boss (who was very nice) has offered me to teach me everything about this new field. I like what the new job has to offer but I have been torn with decision making due to a virtual tie:

Pros for current job:
* I have lot of institutionalized knowledge so my work hours are very efficient.
* Predictable travel schedule (2 days a week)
* Less 'work' to get my job done.

Pros for the new job:
* Chance to learn a new domain in our industry
* Fresh set of customers and challenges
* I will need to put significant effort to learn new things including unpredictable travel.

The pay is almost identical after counting all the incentives like bonus, ESPP, stock awards, 401K match, allowances, etc. On one hand, I think that I am young enough to take a up a challenge and become an expert in a new domain. And on the other hand, I am concerned about ditching a known and mostly working out work life for an unknown company. Both companies are Megacorp. I highly respect my old boss so he is the only thing leaning me over to the new job.

What are your thoughts?