Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Live with parents or move out?
Old 06-15-2015, 08:52 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Live with parents or move out?

I am running into this dilemma at the moment. I graduated from college a year ago and (unintentionally) got a job close to my parents. I have stayed with them out of practicality since then.

I would like to move out but I also like saving money for FIRE

Some details:
  • 23 years old
  • California
  • Rent would be ~1100 per month
  • Income about $85k/year, current savings rate around 80% of net income.
  • My parents strongly encourage me to stay. They believe in saving money. Their culture does not value adult children leaving the home.
  • I believe my quality of life is lower living here. It's a household of 6, I have less flexibility to do what I want, and a good part of my time is spent on family/maintenance stuff instead of myself.
  • I've already lived away from them for 4+ years in college in a few apartments.

Obviously staying would accelerate my FI path, but as an American adult I feel the urge/pressure to move out. Any advice? What would you do in this situation?
WCFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!