Mortgage vs invest....tough choice ahead

Beer-man

Recycles dryer sheets
I’ve been a pro-invest guy for the past few years after reading multiple threads had me convinced by the sheer math argument. However, from a combination of steady investing, heavy equity purchases all dec long on the ride down, and the market activity our taxable balance will be eclipsing our remaining mortgage in 6-8 months. Suddenly I find myself daydreaming what it would feel like to not make a mortgage payment etc. Anyone else face this dilemma? I know it’s definitely a first world problem but it has me doing some soul searching.
We already max every tax advantage account so this is taxable was meant to be a Roth ladder but RE might not be as desirable as much as FI is.
Sort of hoping a correction will take it off the table but my market timer has me wondering if paying off the mortgage at the peak of an overdue bull market would be less market timing and more wisdom. Anyone relate? What did/do you do?

I made a decision to pay off my mortgage in 2013. It was a 15 yr at 5.5% with 7 years and $75K left. I looked at it as a fixed income investment at 5.5% which was pretty good at the time. I definitely liked the cash flow that was freed up, most of which I then invested.

Beer-man, important things first. I am brewing an Irish Stout this morning. :)

To your question. While working, I kept a mortgage - potentially increasing both return and risk. When I FIRED, I paid off the mortgage - potentially decreasing both return and risk.

In the alternative, if you have an allocation to bonds, you can reduce the bond allocation and pay off the mortgage. This will shift your allocation to a higher percentage of stocks. The increased stock allocation is the reason keeping the mortgage has higher potential returns. Reducing the bond allocation accomplishes the same thing. This thread explains the above idea in more detail.