Public or private sector for long term retirement

Datsun72

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello,

new to the forum. I'm currently in my mid 30's with a wife and young child. I watched my dad work 2 jobs his whole life and he never really enjoyed his life. He worked for the City of NY and had great retirement and medical benefits. I currently work in the private sector and have a 401K which my company matches at 6% and profit sharing. The health benefits are expensive and have high deductibles. There is no pension, just the 401K and profit sharing.

I am considering going into the public sector for the long term benefits. I would like a pension an annuity and continued employer health benefits for my wife and myself until death. I know that pensions are slowly fading away but I simply do not trust my 401K and forget about social security. The pay for the public sector is much less than what I would be making now but long term I feel I would be more secure.

Anyone in a similar situation and if so what did you do?

Thanks so much!

Welcome to the forum Datsun. I worked for the Federal government for 30+ years and one of the reasons was that I liked the idea of being able to retire at a reasonable age with a decent pension. When I started out, I didn't focus on health insurance but, by the time I retired I realized how critical that is. For me, it worked out well but public employment doesn't work out for everyone. Jobs are jobs, things go wrong.

I would suggest focusing on maintaining a skill set that gives you employment flexibility and performing work you like. The mantra you will see here is to live below your means and build up an independent portfolio sufficient to support you through retirement. Pensions are great, if you stay long enough to earn one, but there are too many things that can go wrong to put all of your eggs in that basket.