questions about investing... please help

rain74

Confused about dryer sheets
Hi all. Wow, I am very inexperienced when it comes to investing, and reading through all these threads has really helped me to realize that I am making a lot of mistakes.

I guess I just need some suggestions on what to do with my investments. I am a public school teacher, so I have a 403(b) accnt through ING. Unfortunately, my school district only offers it's employees retirement plans through ING and Metlife, which I now know are not so great. So, one of my questions is am I stuck with either ING or Metlife? Is there anything else that I can do, or do I have to use them for my 403(b)? If I have to use them, should I contribute less to those funds, and invest elsewhere? If so, then what are my options other than a roth IRA?

My next question concerns my roth ira. I am in the process of setting one up with a representative at Metlife. We chose to go with American Funds, which I understand have been doing well, but the fees seem high. My question is, am I better off setting up my own roth online, or should I stick to with this rep? If I am better off setting up my own roth online, which company is the best to go with? I was looking at Fidelity and T.roweprice. Also, any fund recommendations would be great!

Please excuse my ignorance, but I am just beginning to educate myself, and a lot of these terms are still foreign to me. I think I still have a long ways to go. Thanks to anyone who can provide me with some feedback.

A great place to go for info on 403b plans is www.403bwise.com

If you haven't already committed to a Roth with Metlife, back away from them and go with VG or Fidelity (I like Schwab, too). Any of these will be drastically cheaper than an American Fund sold by a ML broker.

brewer12345 said:
A great place to go for info on 403b plans is www.403bwise.com