Join Early Retirement Today

Retirement accounts for students/unemployed?
Old 02-22-2007, 10:12 AM   #1
Confused about dryer sheets

Retirement accounts for students/unemployed?

Hi,

Sorry if this was asked before but new to this forum and retirement investing
I graduated recently and have yet to find a job. My parents are kind enough to support me in the mean time. I wanted to know would it be possible for me to open a IRA other retirement account even though I have no income?

I have money in the bank and was wondering if I could put that in a retirement account.

I have invested in a mutual fund but that is a regular account not a IRA or other tax exempt/differed accounts

Thanks
hypochondriac is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: Retirement accounts for students/unemployed?
Old 02-22-2007, 10:16 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

To invest in an IRA you'll need earned income. So savings doesn't qualify. If you had a part-time or summer job that income would qualify you.