Join Early Retirement Today

Still Dreaming at 40
Old 07-05-2005, 12:35 PM   #1

Still Dreaming at 40

Hi Everyone, i love this site but this is my first time posting. well, here are my story... please feel free to advice and comments.

my wife and i are both foreign borned. both are at 40, two youngster 6 and 7 years of age. we came to the state in the 80's , finished college. i am an engineer for the government and my wife has a small business. we like to retire in about 5-8 years if possible. since that is when her leases for the business expired.

we got some investment in real estate (according to "the next door" home price) our networth in real estate is around $1.1 mil and $300k in 401k+ira+mutuals funds. cash flow in real estate is around $3500/mon. total debt is around $250k in home equity line that need to pay off ($1200/mon). no credit card, no car payment, kids attend public school. combined income of around $120k/year (this amount is gone if we decided to ER)

i am tired of working and stress out all of the time. the words "tired and stress" are pretty common in this household. we would like to retire ... please give some advice...

Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!