Update after another 2 years

piranha

Dryer sheet aficionado
Wife (46) and I (44) teach in public schools. I've been teaching for 21 years and bought 5 additional years service towards my retirement... so I have 26 years of service in the public school system in my state. Our combined annual income is still around $165,000. We have 3 kids (16, 15, and 10).

Our only debt is around $55,000 left on the mortgage (10 year fixed at 3%) that will be paid off in exactly 3 years if we keep adding extra to the principal at the current clip. We plan on staying in our current house after retiring.

Rainy Day fund in bank (Money Market) totaling roughly $25,000.

Non Retirement investments (Mutual Funds) totaling roughly $140,000. A few trips and assorted expenses have forced us to withdraw from these accounts in recent years.

403b investments totaling $540,000

Roth IRA investments totaling $275,000

So... our investments (Roth, 403b, regular mutual funds) total $955,000.

Our kids educations and saving for their futures are not a consideration any longer. After running the #s, We are confident that we have saved enough $$$ for them to attend any public , 4 year university that they can get into plus be able to start their lives comfortably.

We are still currently contributing:
$10,000 a year total to our 2 Roth IRA's
$17,000 a year total to our 403b accounts

For me, the plan remains to retire at 48 years old. That's when I'll be eligible (as long as things remain how they are now) for an annual pension (45% of my salary at the time) with close to full benefits, and won't have any more house payments to worry about. My wife will not be eligible for a full pension until her mid 50's due to time off with kids. She has come around to the idea of me retiring early from my current career while she works another 3-4 years.