What is/was your occupation? I'm thinking of leaving the desk....

Director of QA for a large multi plant foods company.
Responsible for quality assurance, food safety, governmental regulations compliance and laborotory operations. Requires a PhD in Food Science and experience.

I was an IT manager at a megacorp and now do IT type work at home. Sometimes I think I'd like a job working with people more, then I remember sitting in meetings all day with a bunch of people out of a Dilbert cartoon and the feeling goes away.

Last edited:
IT. 30 years. Large system sales, sales management, services (consulting, outsourcing, break/fix) management, regional management. It has changed so much-the margins are much lower. That took a lot of the fun out of the business.

Started out from university in an accounting career. Hated it so I switched. Best thing I ever did. Enjoyable, challenging, interesting travel, lucrative income.

HR services. Everything from sales to marketing, to finance and strategy, M&A and finally senior exec for 11 years. I'm also an introvert who was stuck in an extrovert's job for most of my career. I considered real estate as a second career once upon a time, but decided I didn't want to start at the bottom again since I'd already made it to one step from the top.

R

My career path:

house painter > retail executive trainee > window (like the kind in your house) salesman > unemployed traveler > business development manager for internet company > internet company entrepreneur > unemployed traveler > dry cleaning entrepreneur > window sales entrepreneur > internet company marketing director > internet entrepreneur > internet company VP > business broker. Maybe by the time I hit 45 I'll figure out what I want to do with my life! :)

Just an old engineer. I looked at several alternatives over the years so I could stay home with the family, but nothing ever paid nearly as well. And much riskier. I did learn that you have to be ready to move to survive.
+1