Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
HELP Formatting my Posts Here
Old 02-05-2021, 02:37 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe
Mauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: High Mountains in the Southwest
Posts: 22
HELP Formatting my Posts Here

Trying to post on these forums is driving me absolutely crazy. No matter what I do, the resulting post is either NOT broken into paragraphs (hard to read), or if I try to put a blank line between paragraphs, the resulting post has TWO or THEE blank lines and I need to go back in to edit the post and make it look right.


So what am I doing wrong? How in the heck do I get the first post to show paragraph breaks with only one blank line?
Mauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-05-2021, 03:01 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ownyourfuture's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,081
Are you posting from a phone ?
My brother sends me emails from his iPhone & it's all one big glob of words.

I have to copy it, paste it in my word processor, separate & enlarge the text to read it.
__________________
"No beast so fierce but knows some touch of pity, but I know none, therefore am no beast"
ownyourfuture is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2021, 03:06 PM   #3
Dryer sheet wannabe
Mauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: High Mountains in the Southwest
Posts: 22
Nope, not a phone. Just using Firefox browser in W10. I frequent a number of other forums and do not have this problem anywhere but here.
Mauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2021, 03:15 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
OldShooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: City
Posts: 6,402
From my notes:

FF suppress double line feeds in forum posts: about:config "editor.use_div_for_default_newlines" make it false.
__________________
Ignoramus et ignorabimus
OldShooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2021, 03:18 PM   #5
Administrator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sheltered in place
Posts: 34,242
Thread moved to Forum Admin, which discusses forum related issues such as this. Here’s a thread discussing formatting. https://www.early-retirement.org/for...new-91976.html
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2021, 03:19 PM   #6
Moderator
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 18,013
Look in your User Control Panel, under Edit Options.
Down near the bottom, check that you have "Enhanced Interface - Full WYSIWYG Editing" enabled.
__________________
I thought growing old would take longer.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 02:01 AM   #7
Dryer sheet wannabe
Mauser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2021
Location: High Mountains in the Southwest
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldShooter View Post
From my notes:

FF suppress double line feeds in forum posts: about:config "editor.use_div_for_default_newlines" make it false.
That sounds like it. I just made the change, and I am testing it with this post.

Strange how I have never run into this before on other forums.

Yup, that fixed it for me - THANX!
Mauser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 05:16 AM   #8
Moderator
Jerry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 5,046
That’s why I always like to have two browsers on my computer. Helps to isolate issues that are browser specific. As was also mentioned, good to have a phone or tablet to see if the issue is specific to a particular piece of hardware. On this site there are also differences between the app and the main site reached through a browser.

Glad it worked out.
__________________
Every day when I open my eyes now it feels like a Saturday - David Gray
Jerry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 05:49 AM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in the mud somewhere in the NJ swamp
Posts: 7,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauser View Post
That sounds like it. I just made the change, and I am testing it with this post.

Strange how I have never run into this before on other forums.

Yup, that fixed it for me - THANX!
There's a good chance that your other forums are using different software. Even when software is the same, default options can be different, too.
😁
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 08:16 AM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
The Cosmic Avenger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Mid-Atlantic
Posts: 1,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by OldShooter View Post
From my notes:

FF suppress double line feeds in forum posts: about:config "editor.use_div_for_default_newlines" make it false.
Thanks, OldShooter, that had been driving me NUTS! I have been quick editing just about every post to fix the spacing, and I'm also using FF.
Has anyone noticed any changes on any other sites when changing this setting? This is the only one I've had this issue on, but I'm wondering if this might "break" other editors for me.
__________________
-Looking to FIRE in the mid-2020s, which would be our mid-50s.
The Cosmic Avenger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 09:02 AM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
OldShooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: City
Posts: 6,402
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cosmic Avenger View Post
... I'm wondering if this might "break" other editors for me.
Never has for me and I have been using it for years.
__________________
Ignoramus et ignorabimus
OldShooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 09:46 AM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Stuck in the mud somewhere in the NJ swamp
Posts: 7,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cosmic Avenger View Post
Thanks, OldShooter, that had been driving me NUTS! I have been quick editing just about every post to fix the spacing, and I'm also using FF.
Has anyone noticed any changes on any other sites when changing this setting? This is the only one I've had this issue on, but I'm wondering if this might "break" other editors for me.
I never saw this on other sites. So it is an interaction between the editing modes you can choose in the phbb software and Firefox. What I recall is that Firefox has been messing with the affected setting in their browser software. Something used to be a default, then it wasn't, and so on.

When I found that setting fix I was using Firefox. But I now usually visit e-r.org with Brave browser, a Chrome browser modification.

BTW, the config change "editor.use_div_for_default_newlines" referred to is another way to eliminate the extra line.

I usually have 3-4 browsers open (Firefox, Chrome, Brave, and Opera), and have segmented my internet experience in that way, just because I can. If something seems wrong in the display of a site, I can switch to another browser very quickly and see what's up. Obviously I am an oddball in that regard.
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2021, 10:31 AM   #13
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
OldShooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: City
Posts: 6,402
Quote:
Originally Posted by target2019 View Post
... I usually have 3-4 browsers open (Firefox, Chrome, Brave, and Opera), and have segmented my internet experience in that way, just because I can. If something seems wrong in the display of a site, I can switch to another browser very quickly and see what's up. Obviously I am an oddball in that regard.
I use FF exclusively and have it locked down via its security features plus AdblockPlus and Ghostery, so from time to time I will see missing videos, etc. At that point, if I car enough, I will open plain vanilla Edge or Chrome.

FWIW here is my full tweeks list:

FF keep from jumping to the new tab after I click a bookmark about:config "browser.tabs.loadInBackground" to true
-----------------------------
FF keep from jumping to the new tab after I click a link about:config "browser.tabs.loadBookmarksInBackground" to true
-----------------------------
FF keep from jumping to the new tab after I click a link on a page about:config "browser.tabs.loadDivertedInBackground" to true
-----------------------------
FF keep from closing when closing last tab: about:config set the browser.tabs.closeWindowWithLastTab to false
-----------------------------
FF suppress double line feeds in forum posts: about:config "editor.use_div_for_default_newlines" make it false.
-----------------------------
FF Open searches in new tab, about:config set browser.search.openintab to true
-----------------------------
FF open new tab from address bar: about:config browser.urlbar.openintab to true
-----------------------------
These set up FF to my taste. Obviously YMMV.
__________________
Ignoramus et ignorabimus
OldShooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Don't see my posts in New Posts Section lawman3966 Forum Admin 2 06-03-2015 02:28 PM
Formatting Issues flyfishnevada Forum Admin 3 08-10-2010 06:31 PM
Screen Formatting Problems? donheff Forum Admin 12 03-09-2007 11:14 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:03 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.