Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Prove I am a human??
Old 07-24-2020, 02:04 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 11,066
Prove I am a human??

Quote:
One more step

Please complete the security check to access www.early-retirement.org
I've been getting those Captcha pictures from time to time asking me to prove I am a human before I can get to the ER site. It seems to be coming from the Cloudflare site, but that might be being spoofed.

Is this legit? I a suspicious.
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-24-2020, 02:09 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ExFlyBoy5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Country Living
Posts: 4,047
I have never seen this before.
__________________
Retired in 2014 at the Ripe Age of 40
ExFlyBoy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 02:16 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Sunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Spending the Kids Inheritance and living in Chicago
Posts: 9,948
Do you clear out your cookies each time you close your browser ?

I've never seen this captcha for this site.
__________________
Fortune favors the prepared mind. ... Louis Pasteur
Sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 02:20 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 11,066
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset View Post
Do you clear out your cookies each time you close your browser ?

I've never seen this captcha for this site.
I clean out my cookies every few weeks. This started about two days ago. I am wondering if it has something to do with my VPN? Or maybe the ISP is up to something?
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 02:21 PM   #5
Administrator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Sheltered in place
Posts: 32,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckanut View Post
I clean out my cookies every few weeks. This started about two days ago. I am wondering if it has something to do with my VPN? Or maybe the ISP is up to something?
Itís probably the browser reacting to the VPN.
MichaelB is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 02:57 PM   #6
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 92
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckanut View Post
I clean out my cookies every few weeks. This started about two days ago. I am wondering if it has something to do with my VPN? Or maybe the ISP is up to something?
I would guess the VPN. The IP addresses the VPN uses to connect are probably on a poor reputation list that Cloudflare uses.
niven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 03:18 PM   #7
Administrator
Janet H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 5,759
It may be legit. We use cloudflare to cut down on bots, spam and DOS issues. Typically you are most likely to see this when logging in from over seas or using a VPN that may be using overseas IP addresses.

If you are concerned about this you can read about the various sorts of challenges you may see from cloudflare here: https://blog.cloudflare.com/moving-f...a-to-hcaptcha/
__________________
E-R.org Custom Google Search | Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy, and taste good with ketchup.
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2020, 07:59 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: No fixed abode
Posts: 7,902
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuckanut View Post
I've been getting those Captcha pictures from time to time asking me to prove I am a human before I can get to the ER site. It seems to be coming from the Cloudflare site, but that might be being spoofed.

Is this legit? I a suspicious.
I've been wondering about you for awhile now. Maybe you should change your name to Chuckabot.
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement." - Anonymous (not Will Rogers or Sam Clemens)
DW and I - FIREd at 50 (7/06), living off assets
harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Prove I am a human??
Old 07-24-2020, 10:32 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 11,066
Prove I am a human??

Quote:
Originally Posted by harley View Post
I've been wondering about you for awhile now. Maybe you should change your name to Chuckabot.


Good idea. I will contact Demitri in Roscavik and see about the change.

In the meantime, Iíll also try turning off the VPN.

Oh,I get no such Captcha request on the iPad.
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2020, 05:25 AM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: South central PA
Posts: 2,084
We have a VPN we use on some devices. The VPN setting allows us to stick to US IP addresses. We haven't had any problems since DH changed the settings.
EastWest Gal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2020, 07:53 AM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Chuckanut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: West of the Mississippi
Posts: 11,066
The problem has gone away. Even using my VPN it's gone. I do make a habit of using US sites as foreign ones will sometimes trigger odd results.
__________________
The worst decisions are usually made in times of anger and impatience.
Chuckanut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
captcha


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to prove retirement Health care is "unaffordable" VanWinkle Health and Early Retirement 12 11-18-2017 11:02 AM
ACA Subsidy Eligibility Notice--how to prove income RunningBum Health and Early Retirement 48 12-21-2016 03:15 PM
How does she prove her identity? Buckeye Other topics 11 09-01-2008 03:29 PM
Studies prove... Nords Other topics 1 08-16-2006 09:57 PM
Of Human 'Bond'age JOhn Galt FIRE and Money 7 02-10-2005 07:00 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:55 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.