Join Early Retirement Today

ACA subsidies and the VA
Old 07-21-2021, 02:13 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

ACA subsidies and the VA

DW and I have identical HD Bronze plans with the exception that she receives a generous subsidy towards her premium. I called to see why I didnít have a subsidy towards my payments and was told it was because I was eligible to receive health care elsewhere, namely through the VA. I am a Marine Corps veteran and have applied for VA health care, but basically to get my VA card and be in the system in case I ever need to go there. I have never been seen or treated at the VA.
Has anyone else came across this or have any experience with his situation. Once retired, this will literally cost me thousands of dollars if I keep my plan. Currently, we have HSA accounts, and would like to continue funding them. I am considering dropping the plan and just using the VA, but that would be a major inconvenience based on where the VA is located.
Yoheadden is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!