Cobra Question

NoOneGetsIt

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi
I recently left my job and have Cobra available.
Per the Cobra rules, I have 3 months to sign up for it [retroactively] so am covered but I don't HAVE to sign up for it. Can I sign up for ACA after that and be OK or is the IRS gunna come after me for a lapse in coverage:confused:
Thanks
CV

This article might help. It says, "Under the ACA, you can go up to three months in a row and not have to pay a penalty on your federal income taxes for being uninsured."

Job change and Obamacare: How to deal with a health insurance gap

If you do elect COBRA, my understanding is that you would have to wait until open enrollment to switch to a marketplace plan. [edit: unless COBRA runs out.]

As important as the answer to this question is, I strongly recommend independently verifying this information. I'm not a lawyer or an expert by any means.

We just covered ACA in my tax prep course. For 2016, you do not have to pay a penalty for being uninsured for less than three consecutive months. Assuming that part of the rule didn't change for 2017, you could wait 2+ months to sign up for ACA. Just make sure you get it done before 3 months.

I think the actual timing for COBRA coverage is 60 days to elect to take it, then 45 days to pay for it. When my DD changed jobs this year, she went 30 days without having health insurance but if something bad had happened in that 30 days she could have retroactively signed up for COBRA to pay the bills.

Hi
I recently left my job and have Cobra available.
Per the Cobra rules, I have 3 months to sign up for it [retroactively] so am covered but I don't HAVE to sign up for it. Can I sign up for ACA after that and be OK or is the IRS gunna come after me for a lapse in coverage:confused:
Thanks
CV

Are you trying to avoid paying for 3 months of coverage?

Personally, I would either sign up with ACA and be done with it, or stick with COBRA and be done with it.