I turned down a promotion and $$$ today!

rmcelwee

Recycles dryer sheets
(wellness, high blood pressure, stress related)

Three years to go and I was offered a promotion (kind of). I've been doing the job on and off for 15 years and was a shoe in for the position. Today was the deadline for submitting a resume. The promotion was a lot more stress and only would have netted me $5K a year more income (about a 4% raise). I figured that $15K more in net worth would not have affected my retirement life at all. I'm pretty sure I made the correct decision but I guess I will find out when the bosses see I am not on the list (it was common knowledge that I was going to get the job) and call me into the back office to bitch at me. I've stressed over this promotion for the past two years (it was very easy to see it coming as my boss was gearing up for retirement) and I am relieved that it is almost over.

Just wanted to share!

Sounds like you made the right decision.... just tell them that the extra 4% wasn't worth the added stress and responsibility..... if your ready to say goodbye you might even add that since your runway is short that you felt it best for the company to have someone younger take the promotion... that will give them something to think about.

Is this some kind of a government/union job? If not, you should have the ability to negotiate a higher salary. If they say no, you stay in your current job.

if your ready to say goodbye you might even add that since your runway is short that you felt it best for the company to have someone younger take the promotion... that will give them something to think about.

I know it is probably a mistake to tell your employer that you are thinking about leaving "soon" but I'd love to tell them when they jump on me - which I know is coming.

(wellness, high blood pressure, stress related)