Just Got My Rate Increase Notice. A Bit of Rant

MJ

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I just got back to Tucson from Thailand and received a letter from BCBS with the new rates.
I have been tracking the rates for several years and the increases are just insane. I have a high $5k deductible with 80/20% and $40/$70 copay.Tthe 54 - 59 age group has gone from $171 in 2004 to $240 for 2007. That's over a 40% increase. Next year, when I cross into the next age group, the rate will go to $291. Luckily I can afford it.

When is this madness going to stop.

When I go back to Thailand in 3 months, I may very well get insurance there, as I may spend quite a lot of time in SEA over the next 5 or so years and very little time back in the USA.

MJ

Health insurance rate of increase is way beyond the CPI, making it difficult to know how much to plan for.

Last edited:
MJ,

Thanks for the data point. Now I have at least some idea what the annual increase is for someone my age. Twelve percent per year is as good an estimate as any guess that I've made.

I recently read that the typical health insurance rate increased 82% from 2000-2006. Why? I hear all kinds of reasons but my opinion is that our healthcare system is broken. It is viewed as a "cash cow" and I predict it will continue to rise until something causes it to stop - the consumer or government.

Again - Why the huge increase in the last 6 years?

Peace

Where is all the extra money going? I don't think Dr's incomes have been rising. Who's coming out ahead?