Lower Deductible Plan seems way cheaper... what am I missing?

DogGone

Recycles dryer sheets
Entertaining leaving COBRA for a higher deductible, low cost plan.

Current COBRA (Blue Cross Plan) plan is $1650/mo for a family of 4. $700 per person deductible and $4k per person annual max.

Agent Proposed "Crown" Plan is $880/mo with similar co-pays but a $5k deductible/max per individual for major surgeries/hospital stays. Emergency Room coverage is actually only $300 and 100% after, so that's better than current.

For over $9k a year in savings... why wouldn't I switch and take on the deductible risk?

I am new to this... what am I missing? My family is healthy and only one on going prescription which is the same in either plan.

Thanks!

Dog

A few things to check:

One may be a PPO plan and the other an HMO plan.

One may be a national plan and the other may be a state plan.

One may provide co-insurance before the deductible is met, meaning you are less likely to hit your deductible or OOP max. The COBRA plan seems to provide coinsurance after $700 until you hit $4K. That said, all else being equal, that alone does not justify paying an extra $770 a month. But all things together need to be considered.

Have you confirmed your doctor and most local medical facilities are in network with the cheaper insurance?

ALSO -- Cheaper plans with very limited networks may have very few providers that are accepting new patients.

Last edited:
It sounds like you are comparing a Major Medical plan (COBRA) to a Health Care Sharing Ministry (HCSM) plan. Ask the agent to email you some PDF documents so you can see what it is.

The "classic crown" plan below is an ACA-Exempt HCSM with $5000 Individual Shared Responsibility (equivalent to deductible) and $300 ER copay like you're describing.

Classic Crown: http://www.1enrollment.com/manage/materials/1357/National%20OneShare%20Classic%20Enhanced%20Crown%20v052819.pdf