Join Early Retirement Today

MRI experience ( Terror)
Old 12-17-2019, 04:03 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

MRI experience ( Terror)

Just got back from an MRI. Never had one so this was a totally new experience. I was certain that I a not claustrophobic .....until...... they slid me into the "tube". Shear instant terror, complete panic attack. My brain was screaming " GET ME OUT" like nothing I had ever experienced. Totally illogical and embarrassing but I could not control myself. I am a logical engineer that completely understands the workings and safety of the MRI BUT every fiber of my brain was in pure panic mode. I've stepped on numerous rattlesnakes, been struck ( dry bite) , chased out of a river by a gator and robbed at gunpoint BUT nothing compares to this feeling. The adrenaline rush was so bad that I have been shaking and shook up for 3 hours.
I am hoping that an OPEN MRI is an option otherwise I guess I'll have to be fully sedated. Does anyone else have MRI experiences like this and, if so, what did you end up doing ??
aggie76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!