Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

PSA: on PSA (applicable for men)
Old 02-27-2014, 08:19 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

PSA: on PSA (applicable for men)

That's Public Service Announcement: on Prostate-Specific Antigen, or PSA testing.

I have a five page summary of my research, I'll spare you all that. I read all I could, but discounted everything that was not from the Cleveland Clinic, Mayo Clinic, Sloan-Kettering, American Cancer Society or National Cancer Institute. What follows is based on my unqualified findings. I was an Engineer, not a Doctor. If a medically trained member wants to correct my understanding, that's welcomed.

Background:
For those not familiar. The PSA test measures the blood level of PSA, a protein that is produced by the prostate gland. The higher a man’s PSA level, the more likely it is that he has prostate cancer. A reading from 0-4 is considered a normal PSA reading (though I learned that's a very generic range that's subject of considerable debate). "PSA velocity" or rate of change from test to test is also (understandably) considered an indicator.

My case:
In Dec 2012, my PSA was 1.8
In Dec 2013, my PSA result was 4.38