Join Early Retirement Today

Question on advance directives
Old 01-25-2022, 06:15 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

How did you decide what you want to accept? I mean I have zero medical knowledge. I don't want to suffer for no reason. But . . .

Yes I will ask an attorney but I thought it likely I should have a clue first.
badatmath is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-25-2022, 07:21 PM   #2

Think about what your friends, family members or other people you know have gone through in their final few years. What would want or not want?

Your local library probably has books that discuss these issues. Read a few to get a feel for the typical scenarios, and possible ways to address them.

Read the book "Being Mortal" for things to think about.
Being Mortal | Atul Gawande

Check the web site for the Department of Elder Affairs in your state. The name may vary in different states.

Also look at POLST, an organization and process devoted to advance care planning.
https://polst.org/