Veteran’s (VA) Health Care

Senator

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I am a disabled Vet, and am exploring healthcare options for after I retire. I am healthy now, and do not have any health issues. Blood pressure is normal. I just turned 55. I can go to the VA Hospital, which is less than 10 miles from my house.

I recently learned that the VA will cover emergency care, for the first 72 hours, at any emergency clinic. You have to notify them within 72 hours, and if you can be transferred to a VA hospital, you get transferred. If not, you stay, and the VA pays.

Emergency care does not cover urgent care, at least I do not believe, but it does cover emergencies that require an ambulance ride to the hospital. I am not sure about false alarms. So that takes care of health insurance for any real emergencies.

I know I can get ‘normal’ insurance coverage, starting on any January 1, just by signing up. If something bad happens, and I don’t want the VA, I can switch on any 1/1. With or without pre-existing conditions.

I could use the VA exclusively for a few years, then go on Medicare. Or get a high deductible policy. Or some other option.

It’s too bad disabled Veteran’s cannot sign up for any ACA plan, and get a 100% subsidy, no matter what the income level of the veteran is.

What do you Vets do between FIRE and Medicare?

Well retired from USAF in 1996, but have always had employer insurance with either myself or DW. We used the employer insurance as primary and TriCare as secondary, TriCare normally paid co-pays and any costs that the Primary insurance didn't pay.

We only use the VA for Service Connected Disabilities since the VA covers those costs, if you use them for your primary provider make sure you get into see someone at least every 6 months or you fall out of their system and will have to start all over, which can take up to 6 months to get next appointment.