Weight training as we age ... NY Times article

Totally agree with this. I've been doing pullups and squats regularly for several years now, and just doing that much has improved my fitness level considerably. In the time it would take me to drive to the gym and back, I could do my bodyweight workout several times (and at essentially no cost, other than the $20 it cost me for my door-mounted pullup bar).

I'd probably add some pushups into that workout to train other muscles that are being missed.

- The only strength training most of us need is bodyweight oriented and doesn't require a gym membership. A "core four" workout of pushups, pullups, planks, and squats is plenty for overall fitness. You can scale them to make them easier, or vary the movement to make it more difficult as your ability allows.

Key word here is 'most'. It depends on what reason you're in the gym. Training for specific sports is something that typically requires weight training. I hike a ton in the summer, and am very fit, but for pure power when skiing or cycling, strength training with weights is a must.

Last edited:
Who can do a pull up?
I'm still just a kid relatively speaking around here, but I do a bunch of wide grip pullups in my current strength routine. I'm hoping to get back to the days where I could do a couple with a 128lb kettlebell strapped to my waist! (It helps to only weigh like 150 anyway at that point). They're a great upper body exercise hitting most every muscle north of your hips (obvious exceptions).

You can scale them. Use a band wrapped around the bar that you step in or kneel in, or put a foot on a chair and spot yourself or have a partner spot you until you can do them free.

Key word here is 'most'. It depends on what reason you're in the gym. Training for specific sports is something that typically requires weight training. I hike a ton in the summer, and am very fit, but for pure power when skiing or cycling, strength training with weights is a must.