your favorite pharmacy in retirement?

albireo13

Full time employment: Posting here.
Now that I am retired I am considering switching my pharmacy. I have been using CVS for many years but, the closest one isn't that convenient anymore.

Also, I have heard of better senior discounts from other pharmacies. I am considering Rite-Aid or Walgreens.

With senior discounts and Medicare coverage on meds in mind, what have folks settled on and like?

Thx

I used Sam's Club when I was on a standard BCBS policy, when I went on Medicare and got a Humana/Walmart Part D, I switched to Walmart.
Sam's was a 2 minute drive (or an easy walk) Walmart is 6 minutes. (a 36 minute walk, taking the scenic route)

Do not take this the wrong way. Rite-aids premium performing assets were recently purchased by Walgreens-boots corporation. This avoided (rite-aids) bankruptcy. CVS is USAs largest drug distribution behemoth.(afaik)

CVS is in other business aspects of the HCare sector, not just Pharma, or the high profit margined whatnot it sells.
Walgreens as mentioned purchased a large European shoe operation not 3 yrs back diversifying its asset base and income streams like CVS, but in another sector.

Thats my understanding anyway, that to me suggests avoiding Rite-aid.
I've heard pharmacists are sooner than later,.. to be automated.
I suspect both CVS & Walgreens are very similar options nationally.
Good luck & Best wishes....

Considerations for a pharmacy for me are proximity and hours. Right now I'm with Publix. I'd probably go to Costco but that's more of a PITA to in and out.

When you really need one.. like, you've left the dentist with a scrip in your hand after having a root canal... you need one that's close and reliable.