Join Early Retirement Today

Old 10-31-2018, 04:26 AM   #21
Recycles dryer sheets

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakewood90712 View Post
J She also rode the old GM down to 0 for the reason.
I sill have two single share Stock Certificates for the Old GM. Maybe I will frame the one without my SSN someday to hang on the wall.

How and why do I have them? Back in the early 1970's I was a Co-Op student at GM. In my first year of participation in their Employee Stock Ownership Plan my wages and contributions were only enough to receive one share at year end. Due to the times this share was awarded as a paper certificate. I hung on to it for the novelty. A couple decades later GM did a 2:1 stock split and a second single share certificate arrived in the mail.

I hung onto both since we have two sons. It was only after opening the second envelope in preparation to having both certificates framed that i realized the second one was not safely frameable due to the SSN information plastered all over its face.
MI-Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!