I hope that his isn't too simple a question to ask here

Sevo

Recycles dryer sheets
When you look at DOW (dow Chemical) the Price to tangible book ratio is 1.43. Does that mean that the companies tangible assets, bricks & mortar , cash, supplies etc are worth about 70% of the value of the out standing stocks?

Does that mean that if the worst case scenario and the company failed the stock holders would get 70 % of their stock price back:confused:?

Kaiser aluminum has a price to tangible book of .75. Does that mean that has an intrinsic value that is 25 % greater than the cost of it's stock8)?

Price-To-Book Ratio (P/B Ratio)
is this the ratio you are talking about?
years ago, I studied ratio analysis in school. It is used to evaluate a company in relation to others in that industry - so you need to know the industry averages.

That's a valuation metric, not an estimate of "what do the shareholders get if we go under."

I just finished reading Warren Buffet's Bio and while I agree the P/B is just a valuation metric, it is worth noting that Warren's mentor Ben Graham was big fan of looking for companies that were selling below book value. Buffett has bought many companies who's assets was less than the market capitalizaton and then was rewarded when market finally recognized that fact.

Unfortunately simply looking at the balance sheet only gives you a starting point. The actual market price of asset by a company can vary dramatically from the price it is carried on the book.