Mistakes I've made in the last 3 years

RioIndy

Recycles dryer sheets
*Sorry corrected a couple typos, I was off by 1 year*

Hello All,

Just thought I'd summarize a couple of mistakes I've made with my investments and see what you all think :LOL: :blush:

So only started educating myself late 2010. Went all in with most of my liquid cash I had in early 2011. I'm from Canada and focused on the TD E-Series of low MER index funds.

Mistake: I put it all in TD E-Series TDB900 (Canadian Index Fund). This fund was one of the few that did really well during the recession, so it was priced really high when I bought it, and sure enough it has been the biggest paper loss that I've been carrying for the last 3 years. (though almost back to neutral now)

Mistake: My next batch of money that I had I put it into TDB648: Precious Metals fund. Same mistake as with the CA index fund: I bought when it was really high, another huge paperloss that I am now carrying. It also has a huge MER of 2%.

Mistake: I was not fast or aggressive enough with buying the US index fund, TDB902. This one had done the worst previously, and for the last 3 years has easily done the best. Should have bought more. Even though in 2011 everyone was saying that I was too low on my US allocation, I didn't listen enough.

Right now I am too heavy on my CA index fund, but I still want to Dollar Cost Average so I am continuing to buy it regularly, but am trying to re-balance slow over time by buying more US, international index funds.

Overall starting in 2010 didn't work out for me as everything was cheap in 2010 and then again in 2012, but early 2011 everything was overpriced.

Last edited:
Eh, sounds like you need to do a lot more reading to get your basics down, or actually get a reasonably priced adviser to manage things for you if you are still having trouble.