Non-Managed Portfolios… Investment Consultant?

KateM

Confused about dryer sheets
Hello everyone,

I am new to the group and am so glad that I found you all! I have been reading up on all the forums, especially the ones directed to newbies like me. I was wondering if anyone has insights on the following:

I have my investments at Fidelity under their “premium services”, which is free (not a managed account). They helped me set up my initial investment strategy a couple years ago. I am a novice at investing and had big hopes and dreams about educating myself and managing the investments. However, I have a demanding job and have not been able to do that. Therefore, I have not done any rebalancing and I just keep pumping cash into my money market account. I feel paralyzed with reinvesting the cash. Not sure if they are still the right funds, right timing, etc. I’m sure I’m leaving money on the table but don’t want to pay the 1%+ for a managed account.

Has anyone used a investment consultant that you’d meet with a couple times per year for advice/rebalancing and just pay an fixed/hourly rate? If so, any recommendations on an independent consultant.

A little about me: 40 years old. $2.7M in investments, planning on FI in ~5 years once I hit $4M.

Last edited:
I'd consider opening a target fund that roughly corresponds to your anticipated retirement date. Just dump the money in there. It automatically re-balances stocks vs bonds and adjusts the ratio as you approach retirement.

Edited to add it looks like Vanguard's target funds have a much lower expense ratio than Fidelity's.

https://www.fidelity.com/mutual-funds/fidelity-fund-portfolios/freedom-funds

https://investor.vanguard.com/mutual-funds/profile/VTTVX

Fidelity also has a separate series of target-date INDEX funds with ER's of about 0.12. They go by the names "Fidelity Freedom Index 20XX Fund"