Join Early Retirement Today

Prospect Capital Corp (PSEC)
Old 03-31-2009, 07:09 AM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Prospect Capital Corp (PSEC)

I'm fairly new to investing (26 yrs and max out my 401k and Roth) and came across a stock that I don't quite understand. This stock, PSEC, caught my attention because it just raised its divident for the 18th consecutive quarter. It is yielding almost 20%. Does anyone own this or think its a good idea for a small portion of my portfolio?

Prospect Capital Declares 18th Consecutive Quarterly Dividend Increase, Representing a 17.5% Current Dividend Yield - Yahoo! Finance
kybec29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-31-2009, 04:12 PM   #2
Recycles dryer sheets

Appears to be an investment company (i.e., they invest in private and microcap public companies). You'd have to dig into their filings and such to figure out exactly what companies they own and in which industries.

Be hard to judge how they are doing unless you understood exactly who they own.