Stock picking help

noelm

Recycles dryer sheets
Hello folks,

I am very new to investments, have never ventured in this arena. Have been happy with CDs but now its time to get my toes wet.

The background, I make ~68k annually. DS, age 4, has a diagnosis of autism, good prognosis, still never know when and how things will go bad. Suggested by some parents to 'stock up' for his future.

I am done with building emergency fund of ~30K, now would like to invest in retirement plans (my employer does not offer one) and stocks. I am still not clear what I should start with first. Understanding stocks seems little easier than retirement funds, hence starting with them.

- Can anyone suggest me some good stocks (is it also called as blue chip stocks?) I should start going with? Apple and Google are ideal but they are too expensive for my budget. Suggestions welcome.
- If there are any utilities you use to track stock prices Or anything else related to stocks), would love to know them.
- Is there any broker that offers a facility where you put a price alert and when the stock reaches that price, it automatically purchases the number you put in that alert?
- In am considering Scottstrade as a broker. Anybody suggesting any other? I am not very clear about mutual funds yet but reading up on them, so will eventually invest in them too. So please consider it.

Many thanks in advance.