Advise on network drive/storage

wanaberetiree

Full time employment: Posting here.
Hello all and happy Memorial Day !

I've been using Seagate network drive 4TB for several years and feel the time has come to get a new one.
So looking for advice what to consider.

I don't have lots of requirements, size 4-8TB, Ethernet interfere and ability to natively mount on Linux/Ubuntu systems (currently SAMBA is used).

Wonder if anybody can share recommendations/experiences.

Thx in advance and stay safe!

Synology 2 drive NAS box with RAID/mirroring. The hardware and software is solid, the support is exceptional and the client software, at least in a Windows environment, is excellent.

I have a DS212+ and a DS218+. The first digit is the # of drives, the next two digits are the model year of the box and the "+" suffix indicates the fastest of the available processors.

I'm a big Netgear fan. All of their ReadyNAS models work wonderfully, last a very long time, and provide good solid performance.

Get a little familiar with their product line, price the model(s) you're interested in on Amazon, then go on Ebay to comparison shop and get a great deal. Buying a prior generation model will save you a nice chunk of money and likely do the job just fine for you. You shouldn't be deterred from purchasing one used - these are relatively simple devices and I've never seen one fail. Drives may fail over time, but the NAS devices do not.

https://www.netgear.com/home/products/connected-storage/

The current Synology devices are very good.

Drobos used to be good too, but I haven't heard much about them lately, so I don't really know. I have a 10 year old 4 bay Drobo that's still working fine.

Another fan of Synology.
I got the DS218+ 2-bay model last September and put a couple of 4TB HDs in it. Very easy to set up and administer (I'm Mac based) and so far flawless performance.

Another fan of Synology.