Best way to back up laptop files?

Crabby Mike

Recycles dryer sheets
So I just got a new 2 TB Seagate portable external HDD to back up my 1 TB SSD laptop. But as I prepare to put it to use, I realize I'm not sure which way to go:
- run a backup using a utility, such as Norton (which I have), whatever Seagate supplies with the drive, etc.
- just copy the entire laptop drive onto the HDD, software and all
- or something else.

Thoughts?

I used to use a backup drive. But since I have a Microsoft subscription to Office, I use Onedrive which not only stores backups but also does version control. Now if you delete a file it will only be available for 30 days. The subscription also works nicely for other family members (can service 5 I think).

So I also backup the critical changing data on a few thumb drives. This is only about 4GB so easy to do. Each month I change the drive (I have 3) so that if I get some weird malware, if Onedrive does not protect me, I have multiple data copies going back a few months.

I use a utility called CopyChange to copy any files in Documents, Pictures, Downloads, and Music that have changed since last time I ran it to my backup drive.

I used to use a backup drive. But since I have a Microsoft subscription to Office, I use Onedrive which not only stores backups but also does version control. Now if you delete a file it will only be available for 30 days. The subscription also works nicely for other family members (can service 5 I think).

So I also backup the critical changing data on a few thumb drives. This is only about 4GB so easy to do. Each month I change the drive (I have 3) so that if I get some weird malware, if Onedrive does not protect me, I have multiple data copies going back a few months.
I have One Drive too, but discovered to my chagrin when I had a corrupted file, that One Drive had happily synced it, flaws and all!