Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2020, 07:09 AM   #161
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 939
^^^ Day 3 now, and it has not come back (on all 3 Macs in the household), so I think you have solved it. Thanks. Not sure what I did differently when I tried this before.
__________________
FIREd at 59.5 on 2019-01-18
camfused is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-20-2020, 12:36 PM   #162
gone traveling
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 7,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by camfused View Post
^^^ Day 3 now, and it has not come back (on all 3 Macs in the household), so I think you have solved it. Thanks. Not sure what I did differently when I tried this before.
Glad you're fixed. It was really bugging me on my desktop iMac.
eytonxav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2020, 08:03 AM   #163
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
GalaxyBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: The Beautiful Blue Ridge Mountains
Posts: 2,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFW_M5 View Post
After I updated to Catalina several weeks ago, the software notification icon in the doc kept indicating there was 1 update available, but when you go into the updates it indicated mac is up to date. Well, after getting tired of seeing that notification, I finally found a way to make it disappear. Anyone else updating to Catalina have this problem?
I know you fixed this, but I find it interesting that in the update notes for 10.15.5, just released, it includes the following:

"Fixes an issue where System Preferences would continue to show a notification badge even after installing an update"
GalaxyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2020, 06:41 PM   #164
gone traveling
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 7,586
Quote:
Originally Posted by GalaxyBoy View Post
I know you fixed this, but I find it interesting that in the update notes for 10.15.5, just released, it includes the following:

"Fixes an issue where System Preferences would continue to show a notification badge even after installing an update"
Yes, I saw that after I updated to 10.15.5 the other day. It sure took them long enough to address a very obvious widespread problem.
eytonxav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2020, 07:09 PM   #165
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Out of Steam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 1,632
Had been putting the update to Catalina off, but loaded it yesterday morning. No problems so far, and like having the Podcast app on the Mac, as I really can't listen to anything on a phone speaker.
Out of Steam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2020, 07:19 PM   #166
Recycles dryer sheets
gamboolman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Spring, Texas
Posts: 482
Updated and no issue
gamboolman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 07:41 AM   #167
gone traveling
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 538
Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister View Post
I also set up another VM with the current MacOS (Mojave) so I'll be able to run a number of older 32-bit apps that probably won't be updated to 64.
How do you create a virtual machine to run another OSX? Can you set up the VM to run the newer OSX so you can try it out without messing up your existing OS?
Bongleur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 07:46 AM   #168
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 939
Use VirtualBox and install MacOS (or whatever you want) in it.
__________________
FIREd at 59.5 on 2019-01-18
camfused is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2020, 09:01 AM   #169
Moderator
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Flyover country
Posts: 25,083
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bongleur View Post
How do you create a virtual machine to run another OSX? Can you set up the VM to run the newer OSX so you can try it out without messing up your existing OS?
Same as any other VM. With Parallels Desktop (or another equivalent application) installed, you can create any number of virtual machines. Then you simply install whatever OS you want on them.
__________________
I thought growing old would take longer.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MacOS Mojave eytonxav Other topics 18 09-28-2018 08:51 PM
macOS High Sierra Upgrade eytonxav Technology, Media & e-Gadgets 26 11-18-2017 06:00 PM
MacOS Sierra Upgrade eytonxav Other topics 7 11-08-2016 12:33 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:43 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.