Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Roku Ultra froze
Old 02-14-2020, 10:40 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: No Country for Old Men
Posts: 46,020
Roku Ultra froze

I've been using a Roku Ultra streaming device for a little over a year with few minor issues until last evening. We had just finished streaming a program on Hulu and I was returning back to the Hulu menu to select another program when the device froze. The remote would do nothing, not even change the volume or turn the TV off.

I unplugged the power from the Roku but when powered back up it was still frozen on the same hulu screen. I finally had to press the reset button and do a from-the-ground-up restart of the device. That was real PITA since I had to log back into our Prime, Hulu, Acorn and Philo accounts, but the reset did the trick.

I'm hoping this was a fluke due to a stray gamma ray or some such and not the preview of problems to come. Anyone else have similar Roku issues?
__________________

__________________
Numbers is hard

Charter resident of the lumpen slums of cyberspace

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-14-2020, 10:47 AM   #2
Recycles dryer sheets
Qs Laptop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 458
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
I've been using a Roku Ultra streaming device for a little over a year with few minor issues until last evening. We had just finished streaming a program on Hulu and I was returning back to the Hulu menu to select another program when the device froze. The remote would do nothing, not even change the volume or turn the TV off.

I unplugged the power from the Roku but when powered back up it was still frozen on the same hulu screen. I finally had to press the reset button and do a from-the-ground-up restart of the device. That was real PITA since I had to log back into our Prime, Hulu, Acorn and Philo accounts.

I'm hoping this was a fluke due to a stray gamma ray or some such and not the preview of problems to come. Anyone else have similar Roku issues?
Have you checked the status of the batteries in the remote?
__________________

__________________
"If James Bond was an Amish spy, he would drink buttermilk. Shaken, not churned."
Qs Laptop is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 11:05 AM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: No Country for Old Men
Posts: 46,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qs Laptop View Post
Have you checked the status of the batteries in the remote?
Yes, failed to mention it - first thing I checked.
__________________
Numbers is hard

Charter resident of the lumpen slums of cyberspace

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 11:10 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,714
A device like that should reset if you leave it unpowered for some period of time.

I've had freezes with Roku from time to time. Usually it reboots by itself.

One time I used this incantation:

From Remote
If the Roku is frozen, you can try to reset using the remote control by pressing the following buttons:
  • Home 5 times
  • Up 1 time
  • Rewind 2 times
  • Fast Forward 2 times
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 11:12 AM   #5
Recycles dryer sheets
rpguy4's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 87
Wifi issue ? Was your internet ok in the house or do you have another Roku that you can test with just to confirm its not a Wifi/Internet issue ?
rpguy4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 11:12 AM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Lsbcal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: west coast, hi there!
Posts: 6,876
Have you considered Alpha particles?


Lsbcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 11:25 AM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Scrapr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Bend
Posts: 1,148
I had some freeze up issues with a couple of older Roku devices. Like >5 years old. The device would get really warm. I would unplug it & let it cool off. Then plug back in and it was good for a while. I solved it by buying new devices. Your Ultra is new enough that this should not be an issue. But maybe check it to see if it's warm?
Scrapr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 01:11 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: No Country for Old Men
Posts: 46,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpguy4 View Post
Wifi issue ? Was your internet ok in the house or do you have another Roku that you can test with just to confirm its not a Wifi/Internet issue ?
Not a WiFi issue. The Roku on the TV in another room worked fine.
__________________
Numbers is hard

Charter resident of the lumpen slums of cyberspace

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 01:14 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: No Country for Old Men
Posts: 46,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrapr View Post
I had some freeze up issues with a couple of older Roku devices. Like >5 years old. The device would get really warm. I would unplug it & let it cool off. Then plug back in and it was good for a while. I solved it by buying new devices. Your Ultra is new enough that this should not be an issue. But maybe check it to see if it's warm?
Device is only a year old. It was slightly warm.
__________________
Numbers is hard

Charter resident of the lumpen slums of cyberspace

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 01:21 PM   #10
Administrator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: lumpen slums of cyberspace
Posts: 30,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
Anyone else have similar Roku issues?
<raise hand>

This shounds like issues Iíve had in the past, more than once. Never determined what the cause was, reboots usually work for me. Factory reset a couple of times. Only once have we had an unresolved issue that led to needing a new unit.

Roku devices update their SW all the time. My WAG is a bad download / update leads to the freeze, and the reboot / reset fixes it.
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 01:21 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,807
I have had this issue a couple times. I don't remember exactly what I did to resolve it but suspected it was more a communication error between the remote and the unit rather than a problem with the unit itself. I never did have to reset the system, however.

Perhaps this Bing search will help: https://www.bing.com/search?q=roku+u...ANAB01&PC=NMTS
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 02:32 PM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: No fixed abode
Posts: 7,448
I've got a 2 or 3 yo Roku device, and we got into that situation once. Reboot didn't work, reset didn't make any difference except making me have to sign onto everything again.

After wasting some serious time on Google I saw a suggestion to unplug the Roku, then unplug the TV, wait a bit (30 secs?), then plug in the devices again (I don't remember if the order was important or not). IMO there was no reason that should work, but it did. YMM definitely V.
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement." - Anonymous (not Will Rogers or Sam Clemens)
DW and I - FIREd at 50 (7/06), living off assets
harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 03:24 PM   #13
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,714
Something occurred to me. I recall seeing a reset of Roku while microwave was just started. Roku is connected to 5 GHz channel of router no more than 2 yards away. But the router has a 2.6 GHz channel that is also active. This was a month or so ago.
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 03:27 PM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: No Country for Old Men
Posts: 46,020
Thanks for all your responses/suggestions. If it happens again I now have a few other things to try before resorting to the factory reset option.
__________________
Numbers is hard

Charter resident of the lumpen slums of cyberspace

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 10:58 AM   #15
Dryer sheet aficionado
Harrald's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Posts: 48
It's possible that Roku pushed a firmware update that froze the device. I had a 1st gen Roku that bricked after they pushed one.
__________________
Left the Rat Race 01/01/2020
Harrald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2020, 09:54 AM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Cobra9777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,058
We have 3 older Fire TV boxes. In 4 years, I have never done a factory reset. But it's not unusual for one to freeze up, probably a couple times per year on each device.

First thing I do is test to see if the device itself froze or if the remote lost connectivity. The TV remote also controls the Fire TV box. So if the box is responding to the TV remote, I know the Fire TV remote needs a reboot (remove/reinsert batteries) or a new set of batteries.

If the box itself is not responding, then a restart usually fixes the problem. With Fire TV, you can restart the software by simultaneously holding down the play/pause and select buttons on the remote for 5 seconds. There's also a restart option under settings that does the same thing.

If that doesn't work (rare), then a hard reboot always does the trick. I disconnect power for 15-20 seconds and then everything is fine. Factory reset seems like an extreme option.
__________________
Retired at 52 in July 2013. On to better things...
AA: 55% stock, 15% real estate, 27% bonds, 3% cash
WR: 2.7% SI: 2 pensions, some rental income, SS later
Cobra9777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2020, 09:55 AM   #17
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: No Country for Old Men
Posts: 46,020
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cobra9777 View Post
Factory reset seems like an extreme option.
Not if nothing else works.

OP here. My Roku has behaved itself perfectly since I started this thread last weekend, so it appears it was (I hope) an oddball, one-off, rare, highly unusual glitch.
__________________
Numbers is hard

Charter resident of the lumpen slums of cyberspace

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2020, 04:18 PM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Cobra9777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,058
Quote:
Originally Posted by REWahoo View Post
Not if nothing else works...
I would have been on the phone with Roku support long before the nuclear option.

Maybe it's not a big deal for you to re-enter a few login credentials. In my case, there are 7 or 8 logins with long, complex passwords, around 20-30 apps to reinstall, lots of custom settings, and links to other hardware like the AVR, Wyze cam, and Alexa that would have to be reconfigured.

Maybe that explains my attitude about factory resets.
__________________

__________________
Retired at 52 in July 2013. On to better things...
AA: 55% stock, 15% real estate, 27% bonds, 3% cash
WR: 2.7% SI: 2 pensions, some rental income, SS later
Cobra9777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Opinions Needed: Roku Ultra 4K vs. Fire TV with 4K Carpediem Technology, Media & e-Gadgets 17 12-19-2017 08:50 PM
My employer (Boeing) froze my pension plan today... supernova72 Hi, I am... 54 04-09-2014 01:58 PM
Almost 60 and they just froze the pension Trillian49 Hi, I am... 9 06-17-2009 01:31 PM
Ultra Conservative Retirement Planners smileydog FIRE and Money 48 04-07-2007 05:40 PM
The Recovery and the Ultra Wealthy Marshac Other topics 49 09-13-2005 06:15 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:46 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×