Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Using a Universal Remote with an LG OLED65C9PUA or ???
Old 03-22-2020, 01:34 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida's First Coast
Posts: 7,635
Using a Universal Remote with an LG OLED65C9PUA or ???

We exclusively use URC Remote control units, I have about 10 of the things. I noticed tat the TV I want to get LG OLED65C9PUA uses something called a Magic Remote. I want to use my URC Remotes with Standard IR but cannot find any onformation.

My remote says in the software for programming it that it supports ythe OLED65B8 aso I am sure it is the same as the C9.

I gues the main question is does the C9 have a IR sensor or IR Input jack?
__________________
"Never Argue With a Fool, Onlookers May Not Be Able To Tell the Difference." - Mark Twain
ShokWaveRider is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-23-2020, 09:25 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
zinger1457's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 3,220
I have an older LG OLED model and yes it does have an IR sensor, bottom center. It was a little bit of a problem when I had the TV on the provided stand and a soundbar in front of it, the soundbar would partially block the IR sensor. Moved the TV to a wall mount so not an issue now. I use a Harmony universal remote and it works fine with the TV.
zinger1457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 01:05 PM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 52
I have the 2018 version of the tv and use Harmony remotes without any problem. The picture on these OLED tvís is addicting. ENJOY!
__________________
Still figuring this retirement thing out.
EdL3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2020, 01:37 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida's First Coast
Posts: 7,635
Quote:
Originally Posted by EdL3 View Post
I have the 2018 version of the tv and use Harmony remotes without any problem. The picture on these OLED tvís is addicting. ENJOY!
Where is the IR Sensor on the TV? Is it obvious? They also come with their Magic Remote" which appears to be RF. I am not sure though.
__________________
"Never Argue With a Fool, Onlookers May Not Be Able To Tell the Difference." - Mark Twain
ShokWaveRider is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2020, 01:34 PM   #5
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 52
I donít know where the infra-red is on the screen, we just point the Harmony One at the creek and it works.

EdL3
__________________
Still figuring this retirement thing out.
EdL3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 12:01 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 13,115
Not that related to the original post, but my goal today is to transfer the codes from my crappy media player's remote to my old time clunky but effective Marantz learning remote.

Kind of a tedious process, but I will thank myself when all done.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg remotes.JPG (397.9 KB, 3 views)
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2020, 12:51 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Florida's First Coast
Posts: 7,635
Way easier to do with software and MX-880 style remote from URC. I gave up using that one you have probably 15 to 20 years ago, you really need to upgrade.


PS, I had no issues setting up our new LG OLED TV to our URC remotes.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg #Delete.JPG (19.5 KB, 22 views)
__________________
"Never Argue With a Fool, Onlookers May Not Be Able To Tell the Difference." - Mark Twain
ShokWaveRider is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There Are Learning Remote Controls ... and Then There Are Learning Remote Controls easysurfer Other topics 23 06-06-2019 12:48 PM
Universal remote Ronstar Other topics 12 05-05-2015 07:26 AM
Remote Deposit Capture MikeD FIRE and Money 14 01-30-2008 09:26 PM
Another really remote place FinallyRetired Travel Information 6 09-08-2007 04:12 PM
A remote control that works on humans. Nords Other topics 0 10-30-2005 10:17 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.