Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Windows 10 as duel boot with Win 7. Can non geek's do it ?
Old 08-14-2020, 12:40 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Lakewood90712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,195
Windows 10 as duel boot with Win 7. Can non geek's do it ?

Going to add 10 as primary on my decktop. Can mere mortal non tech Geek's reasonably expect to do this sucessfully ?.
__________________
" A person is smart, but People are dumb, dangerous, panicky animals, and you know it " Agent "K", Men in Black
Lakewood90712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-14-2020, 12:50 PM   #2
Full time employment: Posting here.
Lawrencewendall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Severn
Posts: 768
Not sure why you would want to. Upgrade to 10 and any old programs can be ran in Win7 mode via emulation built into Win10.
Lawrencewendall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 12:57 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Lakewood90712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,195
Did not know that. Thank's
Lakewood90712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 01:39 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 10,928
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawrencewendall View Post
Not sure why you would want to. Upgrade to 10 and any old programs can be ran in Win7 mode via emulation built into Win10.
Didn't know that either. How does one invoke Win 7 mode in Win 10?
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 01:53 PM   #5
Full time employment: Posting here.
Lawrencewendall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Severn
Posts: 768
Been awhile but I believe you right click on the executable, select properties, select compatibility and say "run as" and you can chose the OS you want to run under. I'm still running programs designed for XP and it's totally transparent to me.

Side note. Just found an Android emulator (Bluestacks) that lets me run android apps inside of windows. It's the cat's meow for running my security cameras that only come with an Android app.
Lawrencewendall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 02:51 PM   #6
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 565
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawrencewendall View Post
Been awhile but I believe you right click on the executable, select properties, select compatibility and say "run as" and you can chose the OS you want to run under. I'm still running programs designed for XP and it's totally transparent to me.
I did not know that, thanks! Just tried it on an old xp program. It worked!
Peter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 03:52 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Red Rock Country
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakewood90712 View Post
Going to add 10 as primary on my decktop. Can mere mortal non tech Geek's reasonably expect to do this sucessfully ?.
It's been a long time since I did exactly that and it wasn't too hard. I had the space and tools to add an appropriate partition to the SSD which I used for for both OS's and programs. In a dual-boot system, your programs will be installed for each OS so if you have Open Office on your windows 7, you will also need to install it separately when you have Windows 10 up and running. IIRC, it's easier to add WIN10 to an existing WIN7 than the other way around. Anyway, here's a decent description of the procedure. https://www.howtogeek.com/197647/how...indows-7-or-8/

One thing you might do before starting is clean up the existing WIN7 installation to get more space on the drive for the new partition where WIN10 will go. Maybe uninstall programs that are no longer used. If you have your WIN7 on an SSD and you're not sure if you'll have sufficient room for both systems, then now is the time to get a larger SSD! Also, I have all my data on a separate hard drive. The data is then easy to access from either OS - no need to duplicate the data. Good luck!
Ian S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 06:39 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,953
You could run Win7 in Virtualbox on Win10. Not sure why you want to.
Win 7 should not be used, it is a security risk.
jim584672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 11:55 AM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Lakewood90712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,195
I am assuming I need to purchase a full retail version , and the home vs pro is just encription of data. What is the best way to purchase : disk , thumbdrive, download ?
Lakewood90712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 11:58 AM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,953
As long as the Win 7 has a valid license you should still be able to do a free upgrade to Win 10.
https://www.theverge.com/2020/1/14/2...s-7-10-free-os
I think it still works, haven't tested it.
jim584672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 12:20 PM   #11
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Red Rock Country
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakewood90712 View Post
I am assuming I need to purchase a full retail version , and the home vs pro is just encription of data. What is the best way to purchase : disk , thumbdrive, download ?
I'd go for the cheapest. This seems like a pretty good deal: https://www.frys.com/product/8532219...romSearch=true

NB you don't want an upgrade since that would eliminate your windows 7 license. The OEM version lacks any Microsoft support. If that's important to you, the full retail version runs about $140 at BestBuy or they have the PRO version for $170.
Ian S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 12:22 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Red Rock Country
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by jim584672 View Post
As long as the Win 7 has a valid license you should still be able to do a free upgrade to Win 10.
https://www.theverge.com/2020/1/14/2...s-7-10-free-os
I think it still works, haven't tested it.
O.P. wants to keep using Windows 7 so they can't go the upgrade route.
Ian S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 12:29 PM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,953
My opinion, no one should be using Win7, so do the upgrade and leave 7 behind.

Do an image backup before.
jim584672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 01:57 PM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Lakewood90712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,195
Not sure I need to keep 7 , only have 3 years of turbotax as installed programmes. Might be best to get a new hard drive for the new win 10 op sys. .elativly cheap. and move data at my leisure.

Other fix is another refurb desktop for well under $200 ( my 2 last desktops including this one was )
Lakewood90712 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 02:11 PM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,953
If your going with a new HD/SSD do the upgrade to 10, when you change out the drive and reinstall 10 it will auto activate and you will have a good license. It knows by hardware ID.
jim584672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 03:34 PM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Red Rock Country
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lakewood90712 View Post
Not sure I need to keep 7 , only have 3 years of turbotax as installed programmes. Might be best to get a new hard drive for the new win 10 op sys. .elativly cheap. and move data at my leisure.

Other fix is another refurb desktop for well under $200 ( my 2 last desktops including this one was )
I'm guessing that recent years of turbotax would work fine in WIN10 so you could just do the upgrade. I would of course print out all returns to pdf just to be safe before you upgrade. I'd also recommend getting an SSD in lieu of a conventional hard drive for the OS but best maybe to wait until everything is up and running in WIN10 before that change. I had several reasons for retaining my WIN7 installation for future use but your situation is not compelling to do so IMHO.
Ian S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 03:45 PM   #17
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas: No Country for Old Men
Posts: 47,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian S View Post
I'm guessing that recent years of turbotax would work fine in WIN10 so you could just do the upgrade.
^ This.
__________________
Numbers is hard

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ancient Computer Geek Sandy & Shirley Hi, I am... 22 08-30-2016 04:52 AM
The Future of Geek imoldernu Other topics 15 12-06-2012 09:44 AM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:12 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.