Am I Ready for Early FIRE

milford

Recycles dryer sheets
So I got the dreaded call from my boss and HR last week that I will be laid off at the end of the month due to Covid since my company is not doing well. I wasn't too surprised as I work in corporate for a hospitality industry so I knew layoffs were coming soon. I've always been frugal and had FIRE in the back of my mind ever since I graduated from college, but after running the numbers I am leaning towards FIREing vs. finding another job and am hoping to get some validation before I take this leap of faith.

Below are some of my key numbers:

Single: 38 years old
Paid off condo: $500,000
Cash/Investments: $1,500,000
Retirement: $500,000
HCOL Area projected monthly expenses: $3,500

Assuming I use a little bit more conservative approach of 3.5% withdraw rate so I would get $52,500 or $4,375 so that should cover my expenses? But I would have to take taxes into consideration (how is this done)?
I currently set aside about $400 for medical insurance monthly is that enough? Reasonably healthy with no pre-existing condition

Taxes and insurance have me kind of worried since I'm not quite sure how to estimate them any pointers would be appreciated and if there is anything else I should think about before I FIRE. Thanks!

Sorry about your layoff.
From a non financial perspective, even for this site 38 y.o. is on the younger side. You could be retired for 50+ years.
Have you thought about how to fill your time?

I would not fire yet.

However if you are single 38 year old 2.5 million net worth is impressively good number. At this pace by the time
you are 50 you can have pretty good time IMO.

I think you can. Whether you should is a whole different kettle of fish.

How is your $1.5m of cash/investments invested? You may be surprised to know that you could have as much as $52,400 of qualified dividends and Long-term capital gains in 2020 and not owe any tax!