sun city west or sun city grand AZ

mn54

Full time employment: Posting here.
DW and I are looking to rent in either sun city west or grand next winter. we have gone to scottsdale in the past but want to try one of these communities. we both play pickleball, I also play tennis. would like to hear experiences or recommendations from those that own or rent in these communities. thanks.

You might want to look at average age of people to evaluate your fit. My parents bought in Sun City West quite a few years ago and there was a sharp age difference between SCW and the original Sun City to the south. As places have turned over in ownership this may no longer be the case, of course.

My brother & his wife bought in one of those communities. I don't remember which one. One thing I noticed was the older homes were smaller & maybe not as updated. Some of the homes had a swamp cooler on the roof. I have no experience with swamp coolers but I would think an AC unit would cool better

The original Sun City was built starting in the early 60's. Small block homes with minimal amenities. Carports. Several plans with one bath. Watch out for gas furnaces inside the living area. Sun City West was middle 70's to early 80's. Wood frame, a bit larger, a couple of decent floor plans. All electric. Mostly garages. Termites and plumbing issues are common. Sun City Grand was modern frame and stucco from the mid-90's to 2000's. Small lots, more amenities, high HOA fees. Similar product out in the far West Valley at Sun City Carnival. No grocery or other amenities for 15 miles. Pick your lifestyle and comfort level...

My brother & his wife bought in one of those communities. I don't remember which one. One thing I noticed was the older homes were smaller & maybe not as updated. Some of the homes had a swamp cooler on the roof. I have no experience with swamp coolers but I would think an AC unit would cool better

Did you read the OP? He wants to rent during the winter.