Personal Capital Fee account

StillHacking

Dryer sheet aficionado
So I finally accidentally answered a call from them and now they want to manage some or all my assets. I've been using their software. I have been working with a broker/advisor at Stifel Nicolas for many years. I admit to not tending to things as much as I should but when if ever should a service such as PC be utilized? Is anyone here paying them a fee to manage and are you satisfied? They claim anyone from 500K to tens of millions would benefit from their services. I have one small managed account with Stifel and it. Like all the others I've experimented with over the years has been a bit disappointing.

Can I call you and tell you that you'll benefit from me managing your money? Yes, folks with $500k to tens of millions would benefit from my services as well. Better yet, I'm honest and will only charge you half of whatever Personal Capital is going to charge.

I don't answer any calls. When the folks at Merrill or Fidelity send me email wanting to have a chat (after they try calling and go to voicemail), I tell them all the same thing..."Thanks for reaching out, we're doing fine and do not require any assistance or advice. Now that I have your phone and email address I'll contact you if I need anything more." After that, I rarely hear from them again.

Do not give them any of your money to manage, unless you feel extremely incapable of managing it yourself and are prepared to pay for someone else to do what you can likely easily do on your own.

We gave them a little money to test and see how it worked out. So far, their performance is very close to the overall market. Not better, not worse. Our self-managed funds also match the market.

Of course, it's only been about 9 months since we started. We'll see how it looks some years from now.

Our overall strategy is to have a number of different buckets with different management strategies. That way we can see if one works better than the other.