Horrendous customer service at Vanguard

FREE866

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
I've had no experience with Vanguard as all my accounts are at Schwab. Love Schwab!

Unfortunately , my nieces dad died a few months ago and one of the accounts he had was with Vanguard. A traditional IRA and a Roth IRA. Each niece gets 50%.

To make an extremely long story short we were instructed to first open up an inherited IRA and inherited Roth IRA with Vanguard and the money could move to those accounts and then we could transfer to Schwab. The long hold time , the almost inability to get a live person, the unbelievable clunkiness of the website, but then followed by an agent that seemed confused was something I never experienced. For whatever reason we were still not able to open the accounts after being on phone for three hours...really don't know what to do... theres 200k total of funds and we want this done...anyone have a by any chance a contact at vanguard in the service area or any advice on how to resolve? my anxiety ridden nieces were almost in tears......thank you very much....

Your only option is to keep trying via phone and hope that on a call you get a good CSR. Or if the CSR you are talking to can't make it happen ask for a supervisor or more experienced CSR.

Many of us have had similar experiences and are no longer at Vanguard as a result. I remember way back when, I had "a guy" at Vanguard that I could call if the normal channels would not work, but those days are long gone.

I have Schwab and Fidelity as well and these days they are much better than Vanguard. I have a "gal" at Schwab that when I call she actually answers the phone. Amazing in comparison to Vanguard.

Your only option is to keep trying via phone and hope that on a call you get a good CSR. Or if the CSR you are talking to can't make it happen ask for a supervisor or more experienced CSR.