Hello from new guy !

goodguy1_64

Dryer sheet aficionado
Hello all,

Wanted to introduce myself, and give you my situation and join the discussion for input on various FIRE topics.

Myself 41, DW 40 plus 3 kids 11, 13, 15. I was planning for a graceful exit into retired life in Janary 2007 ( 16 months from now), but downsizing at the company I work for has accelerated this timeline and I’ll be laid off in about 3 weeks.

I’ve been making ~$160k for the last several years, but living well below our means and spending ~$50,000 after tax dollars annually.

My financial situation:

Assets

Taxable accounts $1.45m
Deferred accounts $ .45m
Other assets $ .5m     ( mostly our primary residence)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Total                 $2.4m

Debts

None

Expenses:$55,000 annually + kids college starting in 3 years

I’ll be receiving a severance representing 7.5 months salary when  leave and I also have an equity stake in the business that will vest in January (66%) and next June (33%) that is currently worth a total of $440,000 ( before taxes and will be treated as ordinary income)

I’m not confident that this equity will have this value in January and June, so I’m ignoring it for modeling purposes.

Questions:

1) What general guidance can you give me on the appropriate setup for insuring that I have $$ available for expenses, but am not having to sell securities or mutual funds in a downturn ? My initial thoughts are to set up a 2 year CD ladder with maturities every 3 months so that I always have a minimum of 2 years expenses covered.

2) Making the transition? While I’ve been working, my time has always been the most valuable commodity, so I haven’t been as frugal as I could have been in some areas of my spending.  Soon, my money will have more value than my time., so I need to shift my mindset.