Early Retirement & Financial Independence Community

Early Retirement & Financial Independence Community (https://www.early-retirement.org/forums/)
-   Hi, I am... (https://www.early-retirement.org/forums/f26/)
-   -   Heres my plan (https://www.early-retirement.org/forums/f26/heres-my-plan-18839.html)

Johnson 12-15-2005 05:14 AM

Heres my plan
 
I am 41 yrs old with wife and 2 kids 5 and 3 yrs old.* *Our total assets are $750000 house with 200,000 of that debt on 30 yr fixed loan at 5.8%

Bond and stock portfolios totalling 1.3 million with about 60% bond/CD income and 20%stock/20% mutual fund.* *We are not working at the moment and wondering if we can retire permanently.
We have no other debt than the house.* Living in AZ where property taxes are low.
Our kids have USD51K each in education funds with another 13 yrs to go before the funds are needed.*

Any opinions?* Are we OK for the next 35-40yrs?

dex 12-15-2005 06:18 AM

Re: Heres my plan
 
Have you computed your annual after tax income needs?

Dawg52 12-15-2005 07:41 AM

Re: Heres my plan
 
Thats a very impressive portfolio you have at your age. Have you run your numbers through the FIRE calc? Also healthcare is a major concern for most. Do you have good health insurance?


Johnson 12-15-2005 08:52 AM

Re: Heres my plan
 
Just signed on here and not familiar with the fire calculator. I've got good health insurance for the family paying about 350/month. Not sure yet about our annual income needs as we just moved back to the US from abroad. Living abroad we lived a healthy lifestyle on about USD3K/month which included a live-in maid and rental house costs. I assume we will need at least USD 50K per year after tax to live comfortably in the USA.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:25 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.