Best way to move large amount of cash into funds?

IBWino

Recycles dryer sheets
Hi,
I'm a new member, but long time lurker. My wife and I are both 45 and diligently working towards trying to FIRE by 50 (no later than 55). I've just finished reading Bernstein's Four Pillars and will be starting Bob Clyatt's book this weekend.

I've been maxing out my 401k contributions for the past 10-12 years, and my income is too high for us to qualify for a Roth. Over the past couple of years, we've accumulated a considerable amount of cash in taxable accounts. We would like to invest about $100K-$150K of this into a blend of Vanguard tax managed funds. I like the idea of using the "value averaging" approach described in Bernstein's book, but I'm not sure how often and over what total time period we should move this money into the Vanguard account. Bernstein suggests periodic investments over 3 years, but this seems like a long time to us, especially considering that the money barely keeps up with inflation while sitting in our CD ladder. Any suggestions?

depending on what investments you hold and have available in your 401k, you could move the after-tax $ in one fell swoop, simultaneously moving an equivalent amount in the 401k to cash-equivalents, ST bond etc.  That would maintain your current allocation, allowing for increased tax efficiency.

If moving the $ over time, I'd do so over an 18-24 month period. 

There is no best way because there is no way to predict the future. If the future market will be up, then you should just lump sum it all in now.

If the future market will be down, then you should wait for the bottom and then lump it all in then.

If you don't know the future, do what you want, but do it.

Given your info, I would just invest $10K to $20K a month until done. You can invest more when you feel the market has dropped and less if you feel the market is going to drop.

You will know in a couple years what the best way was.