Young Pup looking for wisdom

PsyopRanger

Recycles dryer sheets
I found this site through spideyman; we have been on the richdad site for the last 4 years. 

I am still young but I am looking at gleaning some wisdom from those of you who have accomplished ER. 

Here is me: 

I am 29; I work in Army Special Operations and currently live in Italy. I have been married for 9 years and have 2 children ages 7 and 6.  From age 17-21, I built, operated and sold/transferred 2 small businesses.  I then joined the Army, the first time, and ended up outside Seattle.  During this time, I got involved with the infamous Amway/Quixtar business, although I didn’t build this business; I picked up many good habits and got the dream to retire young.  I also got to spend time with many self-made millionaires and tried to learn from them. I also got my Bachelors in Marketing during this time.

Next, I worked in sales and then insurance, because of my performance, I got a lot of face time and trips with the CEO's of a number of companies, I tried to learn as much as possible.  I then started working as a Financial Planner for 2 years.  I specialized in business owners and complex estate planning for wealthy individuals. 

I left Financial planning for two reasons: 

First, I felt like a glorified salesperson and second, I wanted to teach people about building wealth and smart investing habits.  My company wanted me to push products and numbers.  So I left and rejoined the military. 

I joined the military mainly for the pension after 20 years and the benefits (insurance, LTC, etc) I learned Arabic and have made frequent trips to the Middle East since 9/11. 

I really started investing around 2001.  I got really interested in accredited-type investments and how to access them without being accredited.  I follow Robert Kiyosaki’s investment advice of “Don’t be Average”  I have averaged 30% or more returns since 2002 using stocks, options, managed futures funds and mutual funds.