Buy my first house?

Deetso

Recycles dryer sheets
I'm a 27 year old attorney. I have been planning on buying my first house in about a year from now. To that end I have been paying off debts and thus my savings are at a minimum at this point. The debts are going away but I dont have all that much saved for a house right now. I have about $5K that I could use- (1.5 is in DRIPS which I was planning on just holding forever).

I have found a house for sale just a few blocks from me that needs cosmetic work and seems like the perfect kind of house I was planning on buying... a year from now.

The problem is just that Im not sure I have enough money right now to put myself in a house- but I could try and force myself in. (force my way in by doing things I wouldnt necessarily recommend to other people- 100% financing etc) Its not all that serious yet- but its a problem that has been intriguing me.

The house has lots of potential from what I have investigated so far, its mostly cosmetic- an older man who couldnt take care of it died and the agent picked up the house. (I havent had an inspection nor have I asked for the seller's disclosure). Im torn between just holding off for a while longer and keeping with the plan. But this house is in our ideal neighborhood and is a great price and is what I was looking for, I want to have it work, im just not sure how good of a move it is.

I guess Ill just let you all give me your advice and respond as necessary- Im sure Im leaving something out that would let you give me better advice.

One of the quickest ways to get in the hole and never get out is to over extend on a house. I see it all the time. Not saying that is what you will be doing - just pointing it out.

Don't forget buying a first home comes with a lot of extra cost like furnishing it, fixing it up,added utilities and taxes and insur.

Do you have an emergency fund setup? Did you figure out what the taxes and insur would be on top of your P&I payment?